Why a blog?

Many of you know me are probably thinking “a blog?! That’s totally NOT something Brian would be doing.” And you’re right. Writing a blog is definitely something I never saw myself doing.

Being interested in a multitude of subjects has put me at a crossroads. I’m interested in classical music, sports and food; all three are completely different from one another. Finding the time and opportunity to join a club here that gives me the flexibility and freedom in writing about what I want, whenever I want, is difficult. While there are clubs that sound super interesting here, I just can’t bring myself to commit to them, especially when I often find myself short on time. This blog was my solution.

This isn’t to say that I’m not putting time or effort into this blog. Being self-driven and setting aside the time to write about what I’m interested in has been rewarding. And although the content I put on here is a culmination of my imperfect thoughts and opinions, I’m putting some effort into this blog. I haven’t released this to my friends and family, primarily because I wanted to see how this would turn out and if I would be able to commit to it.

I’m also writing because it’s fun and free. It’s a medium of expression, similar to music, art, sports, and whatever else that people like to do (even underwater basket weaving, no discrimination to those folks). I wouldn’t be lying if I said this blog was going to be about me, but the truth is, not all of it is about me. My content is about my experiences, opinions, and thoughts, none of which would happen without interaction with other people.

This blog is an opportunity for me to not only express and write about my other interests, but it’s also a chance for me to step outside my comfort zone. A great friend and mentor once told me that it’s important to constantly put ourselves in uncomfortable positions in order to force our bodies and minds to quickly adapt to different situations. I wouldn’t say writing this blog is an uncomfortable thing to do, but it’s definitely something out of my comfort zone.

Anyways, thanks for reading this and supporting me. Have a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

